Person of day   -  13 SEPTEMBER 2021

FEDOR DUZ-KHOTIMIRSKY

FEDOR DUZ-KHOTIMIRSKY

The notable part of his chess career took place in the pre-revolutionary years. During 1900–1907 Duz-Khotimirsky participated in four All-Russian championships and was a four-time winner of the Kiev championship. In 1907, he played in two tournaments in Moscow, where he won in the first event ahead of Marco and took 3rd in the second event which listed Chigorin among its participants. In the same year Duz-Khotimirsky shared 11-12th with Marshall in the international tournament in Carlsbad, ahead of Spielmann, Tartakower, Chigorin and Janowski.  

In 1908, he drew a match with Frank Marshall (3-3) in Warsaw with two wins, two draws and two losses. In a strong international tournament in St. Petersburg in 1909 he was awarded a special prize for defeating the co-tournament winners Lasker and Rubinstein in their individual games. These wins against the ruling World Champion and the challenger captured a lot of attention both inside and outside of Russia. In 1910, Duz-Khotimirsky shared 7-8th with Alekhine in Hamburg. 

Being the winner of the St. Petersburg Chess Assembly in 1910, Duz-Khotimirsky continued his successful performance later in the 1920s as well as in the first Soviet competitions. He participated in five USSR championship finals, sharing 3-5th in 1923, 3-4th in 1927 and taking 5th in 1925.

Being one of the oldest Soviet masters, he was a genuine chess romantic, a great master of attack. It was for his brilliant wins, including against the most distinguished contemporaries, which earned him the respect of colleagues and popularity among chess fans. As an Honored Master of Sports, Duz-Khotimirsky dedicated a lot of time to coaching, lecturing, participating non-competitively in the championships of the Soviet Union republics, meeting young people and sharing his experience. He went down into the theory of chess as an author of the name "Dragon Variation" in the Sicilian Defense as he was the one who first noted that the configuration of the black pawns resembled the arrangement of stars in the eponymous constellation.


Fedor Ivanovich Duz-Khotimirsky died in Moscow in November 1965.

Федерация
Шахмат
России
Скачать шахматы бесплатно

Декабрь 2019

Предыдущий месяц       Предыдущий год

Понедельник Вторник Среда Четверг Пятница Суббота Воскресенье
25 26 27 28 29 30 1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30 31 1 2 3 4 5

ФЕДОР ДУЗ-ХОТИМИРСКИЙ

Персона Дня - 13.09.2019

ФЕДОР ДУЗ-ХОТИМИРСКИЙ

Заметная часть его шахматной карьеры пришлась на дореволюционное время. В 1900-1907 годах Дуз-Хотимирский был участником четырех Всероссийских турниров, четыре раза становился чемпионом Киева. В 1907 году, играя в двух московских турнирах, занял в одном из них первое место (впереди Г. Марко), в другом (с участием М. Чигорина) - третье. В том же году в международном турнире в Карлсбаде Дуз-Хотимирский поделил 11-12 места с Маршаллом, опередив Шпильмана, Тартаковера, Чигорина и Яновского.

В 1908 году он сыграл вничью матч с Маршаллом  в Варшаве – 3:3 (две победы, две ничьих, два поражения). В сильном международном турнире в Петербурге в 1909 году удостоился специального приза за победы над двумя первыми призерами - Ласкером и Рубинштейном. Эти победы над чемпионом мира и претендентом на мировое первенство имели большой резонанс не только в России, но и за рубежом. А в 1910 году Дуз-Хотимирский поделил на турнире в Гамбурге 7-8 места с Алехиным.  

Победитель турнира Петербургского шахматного собрания в 1910 году, Дуз-Хотимирский успешно выступал в 20-х годах и в первых советских соревнованиях. Он был участником пяти финалов чемпионатов СССР,  поделил в 1923 году 3-5 места, в 1927 году – 3-4-е, а в 1925 году занял 5-е место.

Один из старейших советских мастеров, он был настоящим шахматным романтиком, большим мастером атаки. Именно блестящие победы, в том числе над самыми титулованными современниками, принесли ему уважение коллег и популярность среди любителей шахмат. Заслуженный мастер спорта, Дуз-Хотимирский много тренировал, читал лекции, играл вне конкурса в чемпионатах союзных республик, встречался с молодежью, передавал  опыт. В теории остался как автор названия "вариант Дракона" в сицилианской зашите – именно он подметил, что  расположение чёрных пешек напоминает расположение звезд в одноименном созвездии.

Федор Иванович Дуз-Хотимирский скончался  в Москве в  ноябре 1965 года.


< >
Позиция дня

Лондон

Карлсен - Аронян
Напролом: 24.e5! Nh7 25.Nd5 Qa7 26.Nxe7+! В столице Англии завершился финал Grand Chess Tour.