Person of day   -  8 JULY 2020

VITALY SEVASTYANOV

VITALY SEVASTYANOV

Vitaly Sevastyanov was a truly legendary figure. He was a Soviet cosmonaut and a two-time hero of the Soviet Union, celebrated for his flights on Soyuz-9, Soyuz-18 and the orbital station called Soyuz-4. He also played in the first chess match between Space and Earth in 1970…

He had a particular affinity for chess and he became a notable figure in the chess world. In 1977, he was elected Chairman of the Soviet Chess Federation. He remained in this position until 1986, and then again in 1988-1989. 

Sevastyanov promoted chess with his status and personality, since cosmonauts were revered. Vitaly played a large part in the match between Karpov and Korchnoi in Baggio in 1978. When Karpov lost threegames out of four towards the end and his advantage evaporated, the atmosphere among the Soviet delegates was alarmed. The recently-arrived Sevastyanov managed to lighten the atmosphere; a man whose profession is based on extraordinary situations did that with consummate efficiency. To help Karpov overcome his fears, Sevastyanov persuaded to take a drive to Manila, to watch the final of the basketball world championship between USSR and Yugoslavia. The Soviet team may have lost, but the trip was nonetheless justified: Karpov won the final, decisive game. 

He had enormous respect in the chess world- he was a member of FIDE’s Central Committee, an honorary member of FIDE and an international arbiter. Space exploration and chess were fundamental parts of Soviet culture and they intertwined in Vitaly Sevastyanov’s life, making him the object of adoration for millions of people. 

Vitaly Sevastyanov died in Moscow in April 2010.

Персона Дня   -  8 ИЮЛЯ 2020

ВИТАЛИЙ СЕВАСТЬЯНОВ

ВИТАЛИЙ СЕВАСТЬЯНОВ

Виталий Севастьянов был личностью поистине легендарной. Летчик-космонавт СССР, дважды Герой Советского Союза, прославившийся полетами на космических кораблях «Союз-9», «Союз-18» и орбитальной станции «Союз-4», участник первой в истории шахматной партии Космос – Земля в 1970 году…

К шахматам у него было особое отношение, особый интерес, и не случайно он стал со временем очень заметной фигурой в шахматном мире. В 1977 году его избирают председателем Шахматной федерации СССР. Этот пост он занимал до 1986 года, а потом, после небольшого перерыва, в 1988-1989 годах.

Севастьянов самой своей героической личностью пропагандировал шахматы - ведь космонавты пользовались особым почетом. Виталий Иванович сыграл заметную роль во время драматического матча 1978 года в Багио между Карповым и Корчным. В тот момент, когда Карпов проиграл на финише три партии из четырех и счет сравнялся, атмосфера в советской делегации была весьма тревожной. Срочно приехавший Севастьянов сумел поднять настроение: человек, профессия которого была связана с экстремальными ситуациями, умел это делать. Чтобы помочь Карпову преодолеть кризис, Севастьянов уговорил его совершить поездку на автомашине в Манилу, на финальный матч чемпионата мира по баскетболу между командами СССР и Югославии. И хотя советские баскетболисты проиграли, поездка полностью себя оправдала - в решающей партии Карпову удалось победить.

Он пользовался большим влиянием в шахматном мире – был членом ЦК ФИДЕ, почетным членом ФИДЕ, международным арбитром. Космос и шахматы были важными элементами советской цивилизации, и они переплелись в судьбе Виталия Севастьянова, который был кумиром миллионов людей.

Виталий Иванович Севастьянов скончался в Москве в апреле 2010 года.