Person of day   -  26 NOVEMBER 2020

SAMUEL RESHEVSKY

SAMUEL RESHEVSKY

At the start of the 20th century, Sammy Reshevsky was one of the most celebrated wunderkinds. He was born in Poland into a modest Jewish family, but by 8 he toured in Berlin, Vienna, Paris and London with séances of simultaneous exhibitions.

In 1920, his parents moved the family from Poland to the US, where he became the strongest American chess player in the early 1930s. In 1935 Reshevsky once again astounded Europe, winning a tournament in Margate and overtaking Capablanca, whom he defeated in an individual battle. This was a momentous occasion in his spectacular career. During the 30 subsequent years, he competed for the world championship. In the late 1930s, he emerged as one of the world’s leading chess players. In 1936, he split 3rd-5th places in a famous tournament in Nottingham, in 1937 he won in Kemeri and Hastings and in 1938 he split 4th-6th places in the AVRO-tournament, where the planet’s strongest 8 players competed.  

World War II took from Reshevsky several years of active chess life. After its end, he re-entered the fray for the title of world champion. In 1948, Reshevsky was a competitor in the match-tournament for the world championship. However, he could not match Botvinnik- which the Soviet government feared- but he nonetheless showed his remarkable strength, splitting 3rd-4th places with Keres.

The American grandmaster once again demonstrated his class 5 years later in the candidates’ tournament in Zurich. For a long time, he fought for first place with Smyslov, but finally he could not bear the pressure, splitting 2nd-4th places with Keres and Bronstein. After this, despairing of his ability to penetrate the heavy barrier of Soviet grandmasters- there were eight of them in Zurich- Reshevsky did not compete for the world championship for 11 years, until the candidates’ tournaments were changed to matches. In 1964, Reshevsky competed in the inter-zonal tournament, but could not join the 8 candidates; he lost the deciding match to Portisch, who split 6th place with him. 3 years later, he won the right to compete in the candidates’ matches, but lost to Korchnoi in the quarter-finals. He played in 2 more inter-zonal tournaments, but his years did not give much hope for success.

An eight-time winner of the American National Championship and winner of multiple international tournaments, Reshevksy never became a professional chess player- he worked as an accountant. Furthermore, he not only performed notably in tournaments but in individual matches as well; he defeated Gligoric, Najdorf, Lombardy, Bisguier, Benko and in 1961 he played against Fischer, where at a score draw of 5,5:5,5 he was awarded victory die to his opponent’s refusal to continue the game. Until the end of the 1980s, Reshevsky continued to participate in tournaments, occasionally teaching his younger competitors strategy and tactics.

Samuel Reshevsky died in April 1992.

Российская
Шахматная
Федерация
Скачать шахматы бесплатно

Август 2019

Предыдущий месяц       Предыдущий год

Понедельник Вторник Среда Четверг Пятница Суббота Воскресенье
29 30 31 1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31 1

САМУЭЛЬ РЕШЕВСКИЙ

Персона Дня - 26.11.2018

САМУЭЛЬ РЕШЕВСКИЙ

В начале XX века Сэмми Решевский был одним из самых известных вундеркиндов. Он родился в Польше в бедной еврейской семье, а уже в 8 лет гастролировал в Берлине, Вене, Париже и Лондоне с сеансами одновременной игры.

В 1920 году родители перевезли семью из Польши в США, где в начале тридцатых он стал сильнейшим американским шахматистом. В 1935 году Решевский вновь удивил Европу, выиграв турнир в Маргите и опередив Капабланку, которого  обыграл  в очном поединке. Это был важный этап в его блестящей карьере. В течение 30  последующих лет он претендовал на мировое первенство. Уже во второй половине тридцатых годов он заявил о себе как об одном из ведущих шахматистов мира. В 1936 году разделил 3-5 места на  знаменитом турнире в Ноттингеме, 1937 год – победил в Кемери и Гастингсе, 1938 год – разделил 4-6 места в АВРО-турнире, где играли 8 лучших шахматистов планеты.

Вторая мировая война отняла у Решевского несколько лет активной шахматной жизни. После ее окончания он вновь включается в борьбу за звание чемпиона мира. В 1948 году Решевский  – участник матч-турнира на первенство мира. Правда, ему не удалось  составить конкуренцию Ботвиннику, чего очень опасалось советское руководство, но Решевский еще раз показал свою незаурядную силу, разделив с Кересом 3-4 места.

Игру высокого класса американский гроссмейстер продемонстрировал и спустя 5 лет на турнире претендентов в Цюрихе. Долгое время он боролся за первое место со Смысловым, но в конце концов не выдержал напряжения, разделив 2-4 места с Кересом и Бронштейном.  После этого, разуверившись в возможности преодолеть мощный заслон советских гроссмейстеров (в Цюрихе их было восемь!), Решевский 11 лет не участвовал в борьбе за первенство мира, пока турниры претендентов не заменили на матчи. В 1964 году Решевский участвует в межзональном турнире, но попасть в восьмерку претендентов не может – проигрывает матч разделившему с ним 6-е место Портишу. Спустя 3 года он завоевывал право играть в матчах претендентов, но уже в четвертьфинале проиграл Корчному. Он еще дважды играл в межзональных турнирах, однако годы не позволяли надеяться на успех.

Восьмикратный чемпион США, победитель многих международных турниров, Решевский никогда не был профессиональным шахматистом – он работал бухгалтером. При этом не раз отличался не только в турнирах, но и в матчах: выигрывал у Глигорича, Найдорфа, Ломбарди, Бисгайера, Бенко, а в 1961 году сыграл матч с Фишером, в котором при ничейном счете 5,5:5,5 ему была присуждена победа из-за отказа соперника продолжать игру. До конца 80-х годов Решевский продолжал участвовать в соревнованиях, порой давая молодым противникам образцы шахматной стратегии и тактики.

Умер Самуэль Решевский в апреле 1992 года.


< >
Позиция дня

Ижевск

Томашевский - Алексеенко
Скачки с препятствиями: 24.Nxf7 Kxf7 25.Nc4! В столице Удмуртии Евгений Томашевский выиграл Суперфинал чемпионата России.