Person of day   -  19 NOVEMBER 2021

JOSE RAUL CAPABLANCA

JOSE RAUL CAPABLANCA

 “I knew many chess players, but only one genius among them- Capablanca!” These words of Emanuel Lasker reflect the unique place the great Cuban occupies in the history of chess.

Capablanca’s biography is well-known. At the age of 4, he learned chess while watching his father play. At 13, he became the champion of Cuba, and in 1909 he sensationally routed the American champion, one of the world’s strongest chess players, Frank Martin with a score of 15:8. He won eight matches and lost one. In 1911, Capablanca came to Europe for the first time, where another triumph was waiting for him. He won the tournament in San-Sebastian, in which all the world’s strongest chess players bar Lasker participated.

His rivalry with the second world champion began in 1914 at a tournament in St Petersburg, which brought together an exclusively strong line-up. Capablanca performed at this tournament in spectacular fashion, opening up a 1.5 point lead over Lasker before the last two rounds before losing the final two matches (one of them to Lasker) and finishing 2nd. “Already back then, Capablanca was playing as well as Lasker” wrote Alekhine later, who himself finished third in this tournament. 

Talks about a match for the world championship between Lasker and Capablanca were interrupted due to the outbreak of World War I. After its end, the talk resumed, and in 1921 in Havana the long-awaited battle commenced. After 14 matches, 4 of which he lost and none of which he won, Lasker surrendered. Capablanca became the new world champion and his strength, according to Alekhine, reached its pinnacle at that time: “A crystal-clear debut and mittelspiel was combined with an unparalleled endgame technique.”

Capablanca demonstrated consistency in his ascension to the chess throne, comfortably winning a difficult tournament in London in 1922. After a series of sub-par performances, Capablanca played brilliantly at the four-circle tournament in New York in 1927, where he won first place and overtook the runner-up Alekhine by 2.5 points! But at the end of the same year the Cuban unexpectedly lost the match for the world championship against Alekhine with a score of 3:6, largely due to over-confidence and underestimation of his opponent.

After this the aura of invincibility that surrounded Capablanca began to dissipate and It became harder and harder to play in tournaments. Capablanca’s dream of a revenge match against Alekhine, promised to him by the new world champion, never came true. In 1936, Capablanca won his final major victories- he won tournaments in Moscow and Nottingham and in 1939 he was the best player at the first board in the Chess Olympiad. That proved to be the final chess accord of the great Cuban, In total, he played 583 matches at official tournaments, winning 302 and losing just 33.

On 8th March 1942 Capablanca died in New York due to a brain haemorrhage. “With his death, we lost the greatest of chess geniuses, whose equal we shall never see again” wrote Alexandre Alekhine shortly before his own death.

Российская
Шахматная
Федерация
Скачать шахматы бесплатно

Декабрь 2017

Предыдущий месяц       Предыдущий год

Понедельник Вторник Среда Четверг Пятница Суббота Воскресенье
27 28 29 30 1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31

ХОСЕ РАУЛЬ КАПАБЛАНКА

Персона Дня - 19.11.2017

ХОСЕ РАУЛЬ КАПАБЛАНКА

«Я знал много шахматистов, но среди них только одного гения – Капабланку!» – эти слова Эмануила Ласкера определяют то исключительное место в истории шахмат, которое принадлежит великому кубинцу.

Биография Капабланки хорошо известна. В четыре года он научился играть в шахматы, наблюдая за партиями отца. В 13 лет стал чемпионом Кубы, а в 1909 году сенсационно разгромил в матче чемпиона США, одного из сильнейших шахматистов мира Фрэнка Маршалла со счетом 15:8! (8 побед при одном поражении). В 1911 году Капабланка впервые приезжает в Европу, где его ждет новый триумф. Он выигрывает турнир в Сан-Себастьяне, в котором участвовали все лучшие шахматисты мира, кроме Ласкера.

Его соперничество со вторым чемпионом мира началось в 1914 году на турнире в Петербурге, собравшем исключительно сильный состав. Капабланка превосходно провел соревнование и за 2 тура до финиша опережал Ласкера на 1,5 очка, но проиграл две последние партии (в том числе Ласкеру) и занял лишь второе место. «Уже тогда Капабланка играл так же хорошо, как Ласкер», – писал впоследствии Алехин, занявший в этом турнире третье место.

Переговоры о матче на первенство мира между Ласкером и Капабланкой были прерваны в связи с Первой мировой войной. После ее окончания они возобновились, и в 1921 году в Гаване состоялся долгожданный поединок. После 14 партий, проиграв четыре и не выиграв ни одной, Ласкер сдал матч. Новым чемпионом мира стал Капабланка, шахматная сила которого, по словам Алехина, к этому времени достигла вершины: «Кристально чистое ведение дебюта и миттельшпиля соединялось с непревзойденной эндшпильной техникой».

Капабланка доказал закономерность своего восхождения на шахматный трон, уверенно выиграв сильный турнир в Лондоне в 1922 году. После не очень удачных выступлений Капабланка блестяще проводит четырехкруговой турнир в Нью-Йорке в 1927 году, где  занимает первое место, опередив на 2,5(!) очка второго призера Алехина. Но состоявшийся в конце того же года матч на первенство мира с Алехиным кубинец неожиданно для многих проиграл со счетом 3:6, во многом из-за излишней самоуверенности и недооценки соперника.

После этого ореол непобедимости, окружавший имя Капабланки, потускнел, и ему стало все труднее играть в турнирах. Мечта Капабанки о матче-реванше с Алехиным, обещанном новым чемпионом мира, так и не сбылась. В 1936 году Капабланка в последний раз блеснул яркими победами – выиграл турниры в Москве и Ноттингеме, а в 1939-м был лучшим на первой доске на Всемирной Олимпиаде. Это был заключительный шахматный аккорд великого кубинца. Всего в официальных турнирах и матчах он сыграл 583 партии, выиграв 302 и проиграв лишь 33.

8 марта 1942 года Капабланка умер в Нью-Йорке от кровоизлияния в мозг. «С его смертью мы потеряли величайшего шахматного гения, равного которому мы никогда не увидим», – писал незадолго до своей кончины Александр Алехин.

< >
Позиция дня

Санкт-Петербург

Волков - Витюгов
Чернопольное фиаско белых: 14...Rxe3! 15. Bxg4 Rxc3+! с решающим перевесом. В Санкт-Петербурге завершились Суперфиналы чемпионата России.