Person of day   -  7 NOVEMBER 2020

ARON NIMZOWITSCH

ARON NIMZOWITSCH

Aron Nimzowitsch was born in Riga in a family of a successful merchant. He was taught to play chess by his father, a strong amateur. The young player’s talent for combinations became evident very quickly. Later on, Aron explained his abilities to perform combinations by invoking his childhood habit of deciphering the webs of the Talmud.

Nimzowitsch decided to become a professional chess player while studying at the University of Berlin. He went to Germany to study philosophy but spent most of his time at chess café “Kaiserhof”. After suffering ill-fortune at a tournament in Barmen in 1905, Nimzowitsch began to reconsider his style and to study the problems of chess strategy. He devoted special attention to the art of masters of positioning. Only one year later, at a tournament in Munich, Nimzowitsch took first place (8,5 point out of 10) with a 2-point lead over the silver medallist Spielmann. This victory brought him the title of master. However, he won another gold medal at an international tournament only 17 years later, in Copenhagen in 1923.

Nimzowitsch’s greatest success is thought to be his victory in the tournament in Karlsbad in 1929, in which all the strongest chess players of that time participated. He was a strong grandmaster, was “part of the elite”, as they would say today, but Nimzowitsch’s main contribution to the development of chess were his books and ideas.

In 1925, the chess world was inspired by two works: “The Blockade” and “My System”. They were quickly picked up by Emanuel Lasker: “Nimzowitsch is a brave pioneer, who confidently creates new, original paths through the debris of chess possibilities.” Alexander Alekhine also valued Nimzowitsch and his ideas, which subsequently gained recognition with other leading grandmasters. Nimzowitsch’s legacy was treated with particular reverence by the 9th world champion, Tigran Petrosian.

Aron Nimzowitsch left a noticeable imprint on chess theory. One of the most popular debuts of our time carries his name.

After the end of World War I, Aron Nimzowitsch settled in Denmark and obtained Danish citizenship. There he lived the last 15 years of his life. Aron Isayevich Nimzowitsch died on 16th March 1935 of pneumonia.

Российская
Шахматная
Федерация
Скачать шахматы бесплатно

Июль 2018

Предыдущий месяц       Предыдущий год

Понедельник Вторник Среда Четверг Пятница Суббота Воскресенье
25 26 27 28 29 30 1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30 31 1 2 3 4 5

АРОН НИМЦОВИЧ

Персона Дня - 07.11.2017

АРОН НИМЦОВИЧ

Арон Нимцович родился в Риге, в семье успешного торговца. В шахматы его научил играть отец, сильный любитель. Комбинационный талант юного шахматиста проявился очень быстро. Впоследствии Арон объяснял свои способности к комбинированию тем, что с малых лет привык разбираться в хитросплетениях Талмуда.

Решение стать профессиональным шахматистом пришло к Нимцовичу во время учебы в Берлинском университете. Он отправился в Германию, чтобы изучать философию, но почти все время проводил в шахматном кафе «Kaiserhof». После неудачи на турнире в Бармене (1905) Нимцович серьезно задумался над своим стилем и приступил к исследованию проблем шахматной стратегии. Особое внимание он уделил творчеству мастеров позиционного стиля. Уже через год на турнире в Мюнхене Нимцович занял первое место (8,5 очков из 10) и опередил второго призёра Шпильмана на два очка. Этот успех принес ему звание мастера. Но следующий первый приз в международном турнире Нимцович взял лишь 17 лет спустя в Копенгагене (1923).

Крупнейшим успехом Нимцовича считается победа на турнире в Карлсбаде (1929), в котором принимали участие все сильнейшие шахматисты того времени. Он был достаточно сильным гроссмейстером, «входил в элиту», как сказали бы сейчас, но главный вклад Нимцовича в развитие шахмат – его книги и его идеи.

В 1925 году шахматный мир был впечатлен двумя трудами: «Шахматная блокада» и «Моя система». Их быстро принял и оценил Эмануил Ласкер: «Нимцович – смелый пионер, уверенно пролагающий в дебрях шахматных возможностей новые оригинальные пути». Александр Алехин также высоко ценил Нимцовича и его идеи, которые впоследствии получили признание и у других ведущих гроссмейстеров. Особенно уважительно отзывался о наследии Нимцовича 9-й чемпион мира Тигран Петросян.

Арон Нимцович оставил заметный след в шахматной теории. Один из самых распространенных в наше время дебютов носит его имя.

После завершения Первой мировой войны Арон Нимцович обосновался в Дании и получил датское гражданство. Там он прожил последние 15 лет своей жизни. Арон Исаевич Нимцович скончался 16 марта 1935 года от пневмонии.

< >
Позиция дня

Дортмунд

Крамник - Дуда
Большой десантный отряд: 22.Re8! Rc8 23.Qd7! В Германии проходит традиционный супертурнир.