All-Russian chess competitions “RAPID Grand Prix of Russia” 2018 consist of regional tournaments, which have a status of the GP stages, and the final tournament. Overall result of the competition is formed by the outcome of the final tournament. 

The number of the RAPID Grand Prix stages is unlimited. Regulations of the stages are developed by regional chess federations and confirmed by the Russian Chess Federation. 

Sportsmen have a right to play in an unlimited number of the RAPID Grand Prix stages during the year.

The finalists are determined upon the data which RCF receives from the stages' organizers. RAPID Grand Prix points scored by participants are summed up to determine the finalists. In case of a tie, the average number of points, scored by each of them during one stage, is taken into consideration. The one, whose tiebreaker is higher, gets an advantage.  If the tie still exists, the sportsman, who was placed higher in a particular event, gets an advantage.

14 sportsmen, who scored a maximum number of points in the stages, qualify to the final, including: 11 men, 1 woman, 1 junior under 19 years old (boy) and 1 junior under 19 years old (girl), and 2 Organizer's nominees, by agreement with the RCF.

In the case of any withdrawal, the candidates' list is formed by the participants who were placed next in their categories.


Tournament Calendar 2018

1.    Vladimir Dvorkovich Memorial, January 11-14, Taganrog

2.    Tournament dedicated to veterans of foreign wars, February 15-18, Kolomna, Moscow Oblast

3.    Rapid in Serpukhov, February 22-25, Serpukhov, Moscow Oblast 

4.    Irkutsk Oblast Governor Cup, March 5-8, Irkutsk

5.    XVI Chess Festival «Sagaalgan», March 8-12, Ulan-Ude

6.    A. Kadyrov Memorial, June 1-4, Grozny

7.    Star Trek, June 7-10, Korolev, Moscow Oblast

8.    Altai Krai Governor Cup, July 20-23, Barnaul

9.    Rapid in memory of Vladimir Dvorkovich, August 2-5, Taganrog

10.   St Petersburg Summer, August 24-27, Saint Petersburg 

11.   Igor Kurnosov Memorial, September 6-9, Chelyabinsk 

12.   R. Nezhmetdinov Cup, September May 10-13, Kazan

13.   Arena Khimki, October 12-15, Khimki, Moscow Oblast

14.   M. Naydov Memorial, October 19-22, Kemerovo 

15.   Ugra Cup, November 25-29, Khanty-Mansiysk

16.   Final of the RAPID Grand Prix (Top-16), November 30 - December 4, Khanty-Mansiysk.