The Russian Cup competitions consist of regional tournaments (open and women’s), which have a status of the Russian Cup stages, and final tournaments – for men and women separately. 

Tournament Calendar:


1. Lev Sandakchiev Memorial, 2-9 January, Koltsovo

2. Head of the Republic of Sakha (Yakutia) Cup, 22 January - 1 February, Yakutsk

3. Vladimir Startsev Memorial, 5-15 February, Ufa 

4. Aeroflot Open, 2-8 March, Moscow

5. Rashid Nezhmetdinov Memorial, 29 May - 7 June, Kazan

6. Peter the Great Memorial, 11-21 June, Voronezh

7. Moscow Open, 9-19 July, Moscow

8. Vasily Lepekhin Memorial, 19-29 August, Barnaul

9. Kontur Open, 31 July - 11 August, Yekaterinburg

10. Viktor Korchnoi Memorial, 15-23 August, Saint Petersburg

11. Magnezit Group Cup, 26 August - 4 September, Satka

12. Alexander Panchenko Memorial, 7-17 September, Chelyabinsk

13. Kstovo Cup, 1-10 October, Kstovo

14. Mikhail Chigorin Memorial, 25 October - 4 November, Saint Petersburg

15. 20th Yugra Governor Cup, 4-14 November, Khanty-Mansiysk

19. Russian Cup Final, 10-19 December, Khanty-Mansiysk


1. Moscow Open, 9-19 July, Moscow

2. Beauties of Altai, 19-29 July, Barnaul

3. Vera Penzina Memorial, 5-15 August, Ufa

4. Satka Autumn, 26 August - 4 September, Satka

5. Russian Women’s Cup Final, 10-17 December, Khanty-Mansiysk

Sportsmen have a right to play in an unlimited number of the Russian Cup stages during the year. Cup points, scored by participants in all stages, are summed up. 

If an open event brings together less than 40 participants, the tournament loses a status of the Russian Cup stage.

Cup points are awarded only to participants who have Russian citizenship and who represent Russia in the FIDE rating list (RUS or FID).

Fourteen best participants of the Russian Cup stages and six best participants of the Russian Women's Cup stages qualify for the final competitions.

The final tournaments of the Russian Cup are knockout events with sixteen participants in the open section and eight participants in the women's section. The CFR Trainers Council nominates two players for both finals.