The Russian Cup competitions among men and women consist of regional tournaments (open and women’s), which have a status of the Russian Cup stages, and final tournaments – for men and women separately. Regulations of the stages are developed by regional chess federations and agreed with the Russian Chess Federation. 

Sportsmen have a right to play in an unlimited number of the Russian Cup stages during the year. 

Cup points, scored by participants in all stages, are summed up. Cup points are awarded only to participants who have Russian citizenship. 

14 best participants of the men's Russian Cup stages and 7 best participants of the women's Russian Cup stages qualify for the final competitions.

The final tournaments of the Russian Cup are knockout events with 16 participants in the men's section and 8 participants in the women's section. Two nominees from the Organizer are added to the men’s tournament, by agreement with the RCF. One Organizer's nominee is added to the women's event, by agreement with the RCF.  

Tournament Calendar 2019


1. Vladimir Dvorkovich Memorial 2018, January 9-19, Taganrog

2. Moscow Open, January 25 – February 4, Moscow

3. Aeroflot Open, February 18–28, Moscow

4. 41st R. Nezhmetdinov Memorial, May 30 - June 9, Kazan

5. Alekhine Memorial, June 11-22, Voronezh

6. L. Polugaevsky Memorial, July 9-19, Samara

7. EURASIA OPEN, July 29 - August 9, Yekaterinburg 

8. V. Korchnoi Memorial, August 14-24, Saint Petersburg

9. A. Panchenko Memorial, September 8-18, Chelyabinsk

10. M. Chigorin Memorial, October 4-14, Saint Petersburg
11. 14th Ugra Governor’s Cup, November 16-26, Khanty-Mansiysk

11.   Russian Cup Final, December 4-13, Khanty-Mansiysk


1. Moscow Open, January 25 – February 4, Moscow 

2. Satka Autumn, September 18-28, Satka

3. Russian Women’s Cup Final, December 4-11, Khanty-Mansiysk