26 May 2018

Traditional China-Russia Match Opens in Qinhuangdao

Russian teams win blitz part.

On May 26, a traditional China-Russia match was officially opened in Qinhuangdao. The Memorandum on cooperation (International chess exchange friendship city) between Qinhuangdao, China, and Krasnodar, Russia, was signed. The head of the Russian delegation Vladimir Potkin presented a chess set to the President of the Chinese Chess Association Yang Junan. 

Team composition:


Russia: Maxim Matlakov (2704), Sanan Sjugirov (2663), Kirill Alekseenko (2625), Andrey Esipenko (2587), Alexey Sarana (2587), coach - Alexander Motylev. 

China: Li Chao (2724), Lu Shanglei (2643), Zhou Jianchao (2624), Wen Yang (2581), Bai Jinshi (2579).


Russia: Valentina Gunina (2526), Aleksandra Goryachkina (2496), Olga Girya (2465), Natalija Pogonina (2457), Polina Shuvalova (2416), coach - Sergei Rublevsky.

China: Shen Yang (2468), Ni Shiqun (2444), Huang Qian (2439), Xiao Yiyi (2345), Zhai Mo (2304).

On May 26, the teams have played two rounds in blitz. Russian men's team won 27.5:22.5. Maxim Matlakov and Kirill Alekseenko showed the best results - 7 points out of 10.  

Tournament on Chess-Results

Russian women won the blitz match as well. The score is 29.5:20.5 in their favor. Olga Girya excelled with 8 points out of 10.  

Tournament on Chess-Results

A seminar "Chess at schools" was organized on May 26 as well. Grandmaster Vladimir Potkin and a former women's world champion Xie Jun were among the speakers. The grandmasters also played some blitz. 

The classical part of the match starts on May 27.

Photos by Vladimir Potkin, Alexander Motylev and organizers