29 December 2021

Andrey Filatov Becomes FIDE Honorary Member

The decision was taken at the General Assembly.

Photo: Eteri Kublashvili
Photo: Eteri Kublashvili

The FIDE General Assembly in Warsaw voted to award the title of FIDE Honorary Member to Andrey Filatov, President of the Chess Federation of Russia and Head coach of the Russian men's national chess team.

FIDE President Arkady Dvorkovich informed TASS about the unanimous nature of voting.

Over the entire history of FIDE that counts nearly 100 years, the honorary member title has been awarded to about 80 people, including one of the Federation founders, Lord Frederick Hamilton-Russell, world champions Max Euwe and Boris Spassky, world women's champions Nona Gaprindashvili and Maia Chiburdanidze, the oldest grandmaster in the world Yuri Averbakh, the inventor of the universally adopted in chess ELO system, Arpad Elo, and leaders of the Soviet Chess Federation Boris Rodionov and Vitaly Sevastyanov.

Earlier Andrey Filatov was awarded with the FIDE certificate of honour.

“We decided to present the first, newly established FIDE award to the CFR President because it is a president who ultimately stands for the federation and its success at the official level,” said Arkady Dvorkovich.

Our congratulations!